3D Comp

Destination: Alphabet Soup (Invisible Architecture)

When I saw the letters hanging out above me walking through the hallway, I knew this could be a fun project to work on. Being able to create a lot of different letters would give me the freedom to decide everything from the alignment of the letters to whether or not they spelled out any new words.

Here is the original sketch I created for this project. I wanted to use every letters and scatter them haphazardly around the wall like a big bowl of alphabet soup.

foam-core-sketch

I faced a lot of problems when working with the foam core, mainly when it came to slicing small curves on the rounded letters. As soon as I realized how difficult it would be, I considered whether or not I had the time to worry about it. The answer was no, of course, seeing as I had only been able to start working on it at 12:00 am. So I eliminated all rounded letters from my selection, therefore limiting the words I could spell out to things like “MILK,” or “YAWN.” That wasn’t exactly what I was going for, so I decided that spelling out new words with my letters was off the board.

Originally, I had wanted to make enough letters to cover a large portion of the wall, or at least to entirely surround the preexisting letters. Unfortunately, due to time constraints, I only managed to produce 33. This limited my design choices in a significant way. If I had been able to create more, I might have been able to create certain effects of motion with the placements of each individual piece, but with so few, I had to determine what the best way to create balance was. This  led me to place an almost even amount of letters on either side of the original sign, and to tilt the letters as opposed to orienting them in a linear fashion.

Overall I am content with the end result. If my choices were simple, I did execute them with accuracy, and each letter is clean cut to the exact dimensions it is meant to replicate. If I had more time, I would definitely do more to expand my list of options, but maybe it was to my advantage that I ran into problems. Maybe that allowed me to edit when I would have had difficulty doing so with an endless list of artistic decisions to make. Some mistakes are happy mistakes, and I suppose some problems can be convenient in the long run.

Leave a Reply

